Just in Stories

Indian All-Women Crew Makes History Circumnavigating The Globe

May 22, 2018 | by Mansi Shah
websitesize - featureimage - women crew tarini

Six women. 254 days. 21,600 nautical miles. INS Tarini was welcomed in Goa after it was flagged off from here on 10th September 2017. On board were 6 women who created history by becoming the first-ever Indian circumnavigation of the globe by an all-women crew, the Navy said. This is no mean feat, and the crew were subjected to extreme weather conditions from storms to sub-zero temperatures and much more. 

The expedition named ‘Navika Sagar Parikrama’ started in September last year. At the helm was Lieutenant Commander Vartika Joshi leading her team of five naval officers, including Pratibha Jamwal, Aishwarya Boddapati, Patarapalli Swathi, Vijaya Devi and Payal Gupta.

“The crew covered 21,600 nautical miles in the Indian-built sailing vessel INSV Tarini that visited five countries and crossed the Equator twice. It sailed across four continents and three oceans, and passed south of the three Great Capes – Leeuwin, Horn and Good Hope,” a Navy spokesperson said. 

We are pumped to see Indian women conquering the skies and the seas! 


Mansi Shah

Know more

You may like

Join The #HauteSquad!

Sign up for our daily email and get the best delivered straight to your inbox. We pinky promise to make it awesome!

अथिया और केएल राहुल की हल्दी फंक्शन की तस्वीरें फैन्स को आ रही पसंद! शादी की पहली एनिवर्सरी पर मौनी रॉय ने माँगा पति सूरज नांबियार से जीवन भर का साथ! FamJam At Masaba Gupta’s Wedding Ft. Dad Viv Richards Made For Adorable Pictures! Masaba Gupta’s Twirl-Worthy Lehengas To Inspire Your Festive Fit क्रिकेटर अक्षर पटेल ने भी कर ली है शादी, जानिए कौन है पत्नी मेहा! ‘Selfiee’ Actor Diana Penty’s Closet Is A Cocktail Of Glam Outfits! 6 Biggest Career Bests Of Tennis Legend Sania Mirza Did You Spot Aamir Khan’s Aunt Nikhat Hegde With Shah Rukh Khan In Pathaan?? 10 Highest Rated Films Of Pathaan Star Shah Rukh Khan As Per IMDb! Know These 10 Women Who Contributed To Drafting The Constitution Of India